Kitsap County Noxious Weed Control Board Q1 Meeting Minutes

Thursday, February 29, 2024, 6:30-8:30 p.m. Central Kitsap Fire Station #41, 7600 Old Military Rd NE, Bremerton, WA 98311

Members & Staff present in-person: Wendy Westerlund (Bainbridge Island, Vice Chair), Dylan Mendenhall (Bremerton, Chair), Courtney Brooks (South Kitsap), Shannon Rose (Central Kitsap), Terese Walters (North Kitsap), Jade Jarvis (Program Coordinator), Kirvie Yobech (Staff), Scott Diener (Staff), Amanda Walston (Staff).

Absent: Jess Sappington (WSU) excused.

Guests: No guests

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m.

Approval of meeting agenda: Dylan makes motion to amend agenda, add proposal to create Weeds of Concern list after agenda item 2. Unanimous vote by the board in favor. <Motion carries>

Minutes: No previous meeting minutes to approve

General Business:

Welcome, Housekeeping

- Introductions (board and staff)

Staff Presentation: Jade Jarvis, Kitsap County Noxious Weed Control Program Coordinator.

- Reviewed agenda, state weed law, weed classifications/definitions, and 2024 state weed updates.
- Covered Kitsap County's current Class B Non-designate weeds; provided updated/corrected list at meeting and posted on Kitsap's Noxious Weed website
- Staff proposal on 2024 county weed list adoption stick with current list and 2024 state additions; spend 2024 evaluating status of county and developing IPM
- Discussion around weed reports coming in, and requirements for class B weeds.

Public Hearing on Adoption of 2024 Kitsap County Noxious Weed List

- No public comments were made
- Board Member Dylan Mendenhall moves to amend proposed noxious weed list to include Tansy Ragwort and Purple Loosestrife as Class B Designates, requiring landowners to control them; Wendy Westerlund seconds the motion
- Discussion around what constitutes class B designate and "control"
- Dylan amends motion to only include Tansy Ragwort; no second <motion fails>
- Dylan moves to adopt proposed 2024 Kitsap County Noxious Weed List as is; unanimous votes in favor <motion carries> 7:23 p.m.

Weeds of Concern List

 Dylan moves to establish a Weeds of Concern list to supplement the adopted County noxious weed list, which shall include the species provided by Dylan ahead of the meeting, sans one species that already lives on the county noxious weed list; 4 votes in favor <motion carries> **Officer Elections**

- Wendy Westerlund nominates Dylan Mendenhall to be Chair; unanimous vote in favor <motion carries>
- Shannon Rose nominates Wendy Westerlund to be Vice Chair; unanimous vote in favor <motion carries> 7:46 p.m.
- No Secretary elected; staff will take on secretary duties until board member is elected

Program Overview by Coordinator Jade Jarvis

Bylaws, Mission, and Vision

- Proposed changes were discussed, and incorporated into mission and vision
- Board moved to table the proposed bylaw updates until further review can be performed by the board.

Public comments (None)

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at (8:30 p.m.)